The pre-rant rant

Great Gatsby ... in 3D! Just as Fitzgerald imagined.

Great Gatsby … in 3D! Just as Fitzgerald imagined.

I’m holding back my rant about Great Gatsby being remade in 3D. I guess you should see a movie before you bash it to pieces. Look for me to bash it to pieces soon.

It’s fair, however, to note the following:

  • GG is directed by Baz Luhrmann, who made Moulin Rouge. The movie has a cult following, but so does Scary Movie 5. Moulin Rouge is an explosion of the ridiculous. It’s LSD on meth.
  • Even the previews show Baz has jackhammered every nuance Fitzgerald so carefully placed in the text.
  • Why 3D? To make the audience duck because a martini glass appears to shoot from the screen?

I’ll follow the reviews and note all the bad ones. Feel free to use the comment section to tell me I’m full of crap.

Leave a Reply

