World War F

Today: The difference between a normal, rational person and a writer.

For a few days, there’s been a big crumb in the back of my microwave. And who has time to wipe that thing out? There are books waiting to be read and written!

So today I did it. I wiped away that crumb and discovered it’s not a crumb, it’s a tiny type of FLY. A normal, rational person thinks, gross, and tosses the paper towel and fly in the garbage.

The writer shrieks and pours out the coffee and considers boiling the cup or just tossing it in the garbage, but it’s too late. That thing has been in the microwave for a couple days with my coffee and pork tenderloin and vegetables steamed in a bag.

Will my family morph into flies?

Is this how the zombie infection begins? Humans consuming food radiated by nuclear fly remains? Brad Pitt’s movie does not rule out this theory.

Will the fly crawl out of the garbage and grow into a Jeff Goldblum type monster fly, minus the glimpses of human empathy?

Has the fly been making my coffee taste better?

Will we have immunity against malaria from eating food radiated by nuclear fly remains?

The molecular structure of a tiny fly under the microwave's ... waves. And yes, I did take this photo.

The molecular structure of a tiny fly under the microwave’s … waves. And yes, I did take this photo.

Is the government monitoring my house right now, waiting to grab me and put me in a lab where I’m subjected to testing?

Does the fly have a gang of vengeful fly friends?

Will my fruit ever be safe?

Hey, this could be a short story or even a book! I’m going to call my agent and send emails to my writing group!

And that, my friends, is a peek into the brain of a writer. Or the brain of a crazy person, in which case I made it all up. I do write fiction, you know.

Take your pick.

Leave a Reply

